Elements that are hard flanked are destroyed if "An enemy element's front edge is in contact with all of their side edge". Does this mean that elements with flanks longer than a base width (eg 25mm Chariots on 80mm deep bases) cannot be destroyed in this way? I don't think I have played the rule this way in the past.
Interestingly in 15mm there are no bases with flanks longer than a base width.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/824840264342234/posts/3065136090312629/
Vincent CholewaHi Graham a good question. My reading is that wording applies to the second rank (you are reading the bullet points on p.40?)
The hard flank explanation is on p.38 under the sub-heading "If an element's total is less than that of an opponent but more than half". That is, "Destroyed if a mounted or foot element with an enemy front edge in contact with its flank or in edge and corner-to-corner contact with its rear."
Andrew CramptonI suspect it is for elements that are less than half a base width deep. ie you only get two ranks of pikes and not three.
Graham StarkeyVincent Cholewa Yes I'm reading the 5th bullet point under 'Destroyed Elements' P40 of hard back version. Rereading you are correct this apples to ranks behind the first rank. Your reading is correct, I read it wrong, despite reading it many times.
Vincent CholewaGraham Starkey you and me both. Every now and then, after more than a decade of playing DBMM, I reread something and realise, "so that's what that means"!
No comments:
Post a Comment