Tuesday, 19 August 2025

Can wheeled vehicles move in a wood? Asked by Vince Cholewa, 20 August 2025

Can wheeled vehicles move in a wood? During a lunchtime conversation about Wellington Warlords’ Call to Arms (St Patrick’s College, Wellington, August 30-31) it was suggested that wheeled vehicles cannot move through woods. I have had a look through the rules but cannot find that. That rule might be lurking somewhere or the comment might be a “memory artefact” from previous rules. Can you help?

Disclaimer: my army for Call to Arms has 29 chariots. 

https://www.facebook.com/groups/824840264342234/posts/3017420421750863/


Julian Hannam
Crikey, no skin in that game then! Can’t help but watching…
  • Reply
  • Share
Vincent Cholewa
Julian Hannam I might have an ulterior motive ...

John Garvey
p19 TERRAIN CHARACTERISTICS Area Features end of para 5. “Chariots of any troop type count all rough going as difficult going.” I think the not moving in Difficult is DBA.
  • Reply
  • Share
Vincent Cholewa
Author
Admin
John Garvey thank you. That was the only reference I could find, too.
  • Reply
  • Share
Denis Grey
In DBA, woods count as Bad Going. Artillery and Warwagons cannot move in Bad Going, but Chariots can (albeit only very slowly).
Paul Graham
Rising contributor
I can find no such rule Vince, your chariots are free to move through woods, rivers, difficult hills, etc. while everyone gathers around to watch Phil the Psiloi chase you.
  • Reply
  • Share
Vincent Cholewa
Author
Admin
Paul Graham my chariots are safe! Thank you 🙂
  • Reply
  • Share
Barry Norris
We are all going to be looking for the layout with the 2FE rough terrain that Vince will never be rotated from.
Ben Vartok
Top contributor
Oh no, not Phil the Psiloi again!
ohn Garvey
Also WWg, Art and Bg have a movement rate of 0p in Difficult, so that might be the “wheeled vehicle” thing.
  • Reply
  • Share
Vincent Cholewa
Author
Admin
John Garvey don't call my chariots baggage! They'd be insulted 😅
  • Reply
  • Share
Lawrence Greaves
John Garvey note that Art(F) and Bge(F) add 40p to their 0p move.
  • Reply
  • Share
  • Edited
Vincent Cholewa
Author
Admin
Lawrence Greaves and how far do they shoot on a wood?
Lawrence Greaves
Vincent Cholewa as usual, limited by range and visibility.
Vincent Cholewa
Author
Admin
Lawrence Greaves there is nothing usual about Art(F) moving in a wood. Like my chariots!
John Garvey
I once tried to put a column of British chariots through a wood. Took way too long, and the column formation didn’t help when they were ZOCed by Ax.
  • Reply
  • Share
Vincent Cholewa
Our lunchtime conversation included the tale of a column of Assyrian chariots, the guides stratagem and a die roll of 1. Oops! apparently, that wasn't the word said 😆
Kenneth Chan
chariots are either Cv or Kn both have movement allowance in DG
Kenneth Chan
Woods in DBMM is assumed to have tracks thus the strategram of guides. It is not a piece of virgin jungle
Vincent Cholewa
Author
Admin
Kenneth Chan a good point, thank you 😊
Bruce Ferguson
I think they couldn't do it in DBM, I remember being surprised to learn they could in DBMM
Richard Foster
Pretty sure they can just difficult that is all. The real disadvantage is in rough going which equates to difficult. You can dismount of course or use a local guide.
Just use some local guides.
Vincent Cholewa
Author
Admin
Richard Foster thank you but weren’t they your chariots in the middle of a wood suddenly finding themselves sans-guide?
Ben Vartok
Top contributor
Vincent Cholewa there should be a fire road, just follow that.
  • Reply
  • Share
Vincent Cholewa
Author
Admin
Ben Vartok a fire road or a highway to hell?

John Way

Rising contributor

Use offroad rims and four horse drive?

3 comments:

  1. Train (F) gets to add their (F) movement bonus irrespective of terrain, so Bge (F) and Art (F) can move through difficult, albeit agonizingly slowly.

    Art (S) has a '-' rather than '0' for its movement allowance in difficult; just how or if this differs is unclear to me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My interpretation is '0' means they can deploy in it, the '-' means not allowed in it at all, at all!

      Delete
  2. Two points:
    1) Yes my chariots were in column on a steep hill following a guide who successfully saw them to the bottom. Unfortunately three of Paul's Skythian horse archers were in line waiting for them. The head of the column charged in regardless then, having just survived the confrontation retreated to the safety of the hill. The view was nice up there.
    2) Yes Vince my brave chariots were misinformed so they decided to stay within the confines of the wood. Everyone enjoyed the picnic.

    ReplyDelete